© 2022 CyberNews - Latest tech news,
product reviews, and analyses.

If you purchase via links on our site, we may receive affiliate commissions.

WhatsApp to let users leave group chats unnoticed


Part of an annoying WhatsApp group chat that refuses to end? Just walk out, you can leave.

WhatsApp, the world's most popular instant messaging app, is rolling out new privacy features this month that will allow users to avoid the drama sometimes associated with leaving group conversations and do it silently. Only administrators will know, and not every other chat member, as was the case so far.

As part of its latest privacy update, which it says will enhance security, WhatsApp will also start blocking users from taking screenshots of its Snapchat-style disappearing messages that vanish after the recipient views them once.

The company will also let users decide whether they want the entire world to know when they check their phones. Under the new settings, it will be up to the users to choose who can see if they're online or not.

"We'll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations," Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Meta, which owns WhatsApp, said in a Facebook post announcing the changes.

In a separate post, WhatsApp also revealed that users would now have more than two days to delete the messages they had sent. The current limit is just over one hour – leaving plenty of time to decide whether that drunken message you've sent is just embarrassing enough.


More from Cybernews:

Meta’s new AI chatbot exposes anti-semite, homophobic views

US bans virtual currency mixer Tornado Cash for its role in money laundering

Google apologizes for a global services outage

US extradites French cybercrime suspect

Slack leaked hashed passwords for 5 years

Subscribe to our newsletter



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked