© 2021 CyberNews - Latest tech news,
product reviews, and analyses.

If you purchase via links on our site, we may receive affiliate commissions.

How to delete passwords from Chrome: a step-by-step guide


Web browsers are an invaluable source of user data, which can be exploited by third parties if not properly protected. Sensitive data like passwords are saved in browsers and applications. Under certain circumstances, you might want to clear your saved passwords.

There are many different web browsers, each with its specific privacy and password settings. In this post, we’ll give you a step-by-step on how to remove passwords from Chrome browser. Please note that this guide is a tutorial for the desktop (Macbook/PC) Google Chrome browser version – not the mobile or tablet versions that can be found on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

How to delete saved passwords from Chrome:

1. Launch Chrome, and click on the three dots in the upper right-hand corner.

google chrome smarts

2. Click on Settings.

chrome settings

3.  On a new page, click on Passwords.

chrome password settings

4. After clicking Passwords, the menu will expand and give you more options, including Auto Sign-in, and a list of Saved and Never saved passwords.

5. Select all of the web passwords that you wish to remove, and click Trash or Delete.

Why would you delete Chrome passwords

Here are some of the more popular reasons for deleting saved passwords from the Google Chrome browser:

Using an unsecured device: people frequently use unsecured devices to access their social media, email, and business accounts. An unsecured device is any device that you don’t own or have sole access to. These devices can be anything from library computers to a friend's laptop.

Viruses and malware: whether received via an infected weblink, an email message, or a malicious download, computer viruses are a major risk to internet users. Not only do they wreak havoc on your computer's OS, but the more insidious viruses can also steal your passwords and pass them on to an attacker.

Ineffective or defunct accounts: maybe you closed one of your accounts, created a new account, or no longer need one to log into a particular website. However, the password for the account or website in question will still remain among the passwords saves by Google Chrome. Clearing this data from Chrome will help declutter your browser's saved data.

Accidentally or unintentionally saved passwords: Google Chrome has an option that, when activated, automatically saves passwords. If a password that you didn’t intend to save happens to be saved, you may want to remove it. These may include websites that you visit infrequently.

Passwords of other users: if a device is used by somebody other than yourself, their passwords might be saved on your web browser if they happened to log into one of their own accounts (email, gaming, social media, etc.). The user in question might not have intended to save their password on your Google Chrome account, or maybe they just forgot to delete it.

How to Recover Deleted Passwords in Google Chrome?

It can’t be overstated: it’s critical that you backup your saved Google Chrome passwords. Your browser can crash, or you may delete a password by accident. While you can recover deleted passwords (see below), it can be a time-consuming process. Whether you manually write your passwords down on a piece of paper or keep them stored on another device, having a secondary, secure location for your Google Chrome passwords is ideal.

If you’ve deleted Google Chrome passwords and wish to retrieve them, first of all, check if you can find them on passwords.google.com.

If not, chances are they are lost for good.

However, you can try other ways to recover your deleted passwords – although depending on the device being used and its software, it may not always work. At present, it’s not possible to use Google Chrome to recover deleted passwords. However, depending on your device (macOS or Windows), you could restore your computer's software version to a previous update.

Restoring your device's software version to a previous update can cause you to lose documents, software updates, browser history, or device information. Make sure you’ve backed up all important documents and files in a secondary, secure location before attempting this.

In closing

Whether you use the web for shopping, gaming, work, or communication, there’s a high chance that you have multiple accounts across a number of digital platforms. The passwords needed for you to access these platforms are saved – either voluntarily or involuntarily – by your browser and, while making the log-in process more convenient, this does pose a considerable security risk.

It’s important to make sure that the data on all of your web browsers, including Google Chrome, has been adequately secured.

We hope that this step-by-step article on how to delete saved passwords on Chrome was helpful and that the information provided can be of use.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked