In this article, we’ll dive into the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account.
Facebook is a globally popular social media platform. You can easily sign up for Facebook on any device that can access the web. For those who feel like taking a break from the platform, Facebook provides the option of deactivating or deleting their account.
Before choosing one or the other, first you have to decide whether you want to stop using Facebook temporarily or permanently.
Facebook’s deactivate vs delete options on a short-term basis
If you decide to take a vacation from social media, deactivating your Facebook account may be a good option.
Once you deactivate your account, other users or followers cannot see what’s on your timeline or search for you. Some information, though, may remain visible to others, such as previously sent messages.
The best thing about deactivating your Facebook account is the fact that it can be reactivated whenever you want.
Account reactivation is simple: you just need to log on to Facebook with your existing user name and password. Once your account is reactivated, you’ll regain access to your photos and posts, and also get reconnected to your followers and Facebook groups.
Facebook’s deactivate vs delete options on a permanent basis
What if you want to permanently stop using the platform? You can choose to delete your account without the possibility of reactivating it in the future.
Permanent deletion leads to the loss of your Facebook profile, posts, Messenger conversations, and photos without any options for retrieval.
However, messages sent by friends remain visible to you after you delete your Facebook account.
For a Facebook account to be deleted, you’re given a time period of 14 days before the account vanishes for good. During these 14 days, you can decide to cancel the deletion of your Facebook account. The process of cancellation is as easy as clicking on the ‘cancel deletion’ option in Facebook’s settings.
Steps for deactivating or deleting a Facebook account
Facebook provides steps, which we have outlined here, which you can follow to deactivate or delete your account.
- First, click on the account menu down arrow on the top right corner of the main Facebook page.
- Select Settings and privacy.
- Go to Facebook information, and then click on Account Ownership and Control.
- Choose Account Deactivation or Deletion, then follow the instructions provided.
Reasons for deactivating or deleting a Facebook account
You may have numerous reasons for deleting or deactivating your account, such as:
- Facebook is compromising your privacy in the case of a password hack, and personal data is being shared online.
- You’re addicted to Facebook and can’t sign out for fear of missing out on something.
- You have anxiety or feelings of inadequacy from seeing other people’s supposedly perfect lives.
Pros and cons of deactivating vs deleting your Facebook account
Facebook deactivation or deletion may benefit or disadvantage you. Once you deactivate or delete your account, you’re able to save more time doing other things, and you have more privacy as you share less on Facebook. However, you’re also bound to miss out on social media entertainment on Facebook, as well as connections to your Facebook friends.